Home Internationals 2015

13-14 June 2015, Kelvingrove

Glasgow Croquet Club hosted the 2015 Home Internationals in grand style at Kelvingrove, thanks to Bruce Rannie and Brian Durward in particular and also generous sponsorship from Glasgow Life.    Duncan Reeve won all his matches playing at no. 1 for Scotland, but this wasn't enough to avoid the Wooden Spoon, which was decided late on Sunday afternoon after a long battle between Jane Morrison and John Surgenor.

Campbell Morrison

Read more: Home Internationals 2015

Latvian Croquet Federation v SCA

6-7 June 2015, Ratnieki, Latvia

Normunds ZelcansThe Latvian Croquet Federation team beat the SCA by 31-20.

Scottish Croquet Association team: Malcolm Smith (captain), Dave Arnot, Chris Martin, George Geis, Kenny McIsaac and Joyce Arnot.

Latvian Croquet Federation team: Viktors Harlinskis (captain), Roberts Stafeckis (Saturday), Normunds Zelcans, Andris Usans, Andrejs Savinovs, Aija Usane and also Liga Usane and Zigurds Plavins played games on the Sunday.

Read more: Latvian Croquet Federation v SCA

Meadows AC Open 2015

20-21 June 2015, Meadows

Some of the flowers of ScotlandJane Morrison won the Meadows Open from a field of 13 players with handicaps ranging from -½ to 12.   The weather forecast suggested some rain both days but we were lucky and it stayed dry virtually the whole weekend with some sun on both afternoons. Not quite “taps aff” but pleasantly warm.

Read more: Meadows AC Open 2015

SCA Interclub 2015

The 2015 SCA interclub competition is being run as a straight knock-out competition as there are seven entries.

By 31 Jul By 6 Sep On 26 Sep Winner
Edinburgh Edinburgh Edinburgh Edinburgh
Meadows 2
Aberdeen 2 Aberdeen 2
Aberdeen 1 Meadows 1 Meadows 1
Meadows 1

The first named team has choice of venue.   Teams may be selected from a pool of players but no player may play for more than one team.  Please report results to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The final will be played on finals day, 26 September, at Meadows Croquet Club.

Matches will consist of two games of handicap AC singles.  Normally lower handicap players will play each other, but captains may agree otherwise.   Time limits of 3 hours plus 3 minutes per bisque unless agreed otherwise.  Matches will be decided on:

  • games won
  • then total net points
  • then total gross points

If still equal then the match will be decided by a single 14 point Alternate Stroke Doubles match, unless agreed otherwise.



Aberdeen and Crathes 2 v Glasgow
Bill Strachan lost to Brian Durward -7
Charles Henderson beat Joe Lennon +11

Edinburgh v Meadows 2
Alan Wilson beat Brian Murdoch +18
Alastair Burn-Murdoch beat Robert Inder +14

Aberdeen 1 v Meadows 1
Malcolm Robertson lost to Jamieson Walker -15
Robert Bell lost to Jola Jurasinska -1T (14-15)

Meadows 1 v Auchincruive
Jamieson Walker lost to Dave Arnot -4
Jola Jurasinska beat Malcolm Smith +13

Edinburgh v Aberdeen and Crathes 2
Rosemary Saunders-Robertson beat Charles Henderson +4T
Hamish Duguid beat Bill Strachan +4

Edinburgh v Meadows 1
Allan Hawke lost to Jamieson Walker -7
Rosemary Saunders-Robertson beat Jola Jurasinska +16


Scottish Masters 2015

30-31 May 2015, Meadows

James Hopgood receiving the trophy from the club chairman, Roger BinksJames Hopgood won the Scottish Masters with a perfect 8 wins from 8 games.  There were thirteen players including three visitors from the Surbiton club; handicaps ranged from -1½ to 12.  We played a total of 41 games, 8 tps were completed and 5 of the games went to time.  Janice Duguid secured a handicap reduction from 5 to 4½. The weather was pleasant on Saturday; Sunday was a bit cold and damp at first, but brightened up later.  Both days were windy and this added to the difficulty.

A second competition was run in conjunction with the main event.  This was a "horse race" in which there is a handicapped race to the winning post: you make progress by winning games (e.g. for a -1½ to win, they'll need eight wins, whereas for a handicap 12 to win, they'll need just two wins, across the weekend). Hamish Duguid won this close run event.

John Surgenor

Read more: Scottish Masters 2015