West of Scotland Championship 2005

1-2 October 2005, Glasgow

For the second year in succession, the SCA's last tournament of the season was also its best-attended.  This time there were 15 players, with handicaps from 1 to 16, including two visitors from outside Scotland - Alice Fleck from Tyneside, now a regular at Scottish tournaments, and Bob Imhoff from Vancouver.

Read more: West of Scotland Championship 2005

Scottish Handicap Finals 2005

25 September 2005, Meadows

The finals of the SCA's season-long competitions were played at Meadows West on the last Sunday of September, in pleasant conditions with periods of warm sunshine and just one brief shower.  Members of the Meadows Club were victorious in all three events.

Read more: Scottish Handicap Finals 2005

European Championship 2005

16-18 September 2005, Jersey

Bruce Rannie was the Scotland representative in the 2005 (13th) FEC European Championships, held from 16 to 18 September at Jersey Croquet Club.  Seeded 7th of the 19 participants (there was a last-minute withdrawal by a Spaniard, and no replacement available), Bruce was in a block with Matthew Burrow, Rodolphe Dourthe (France), coming back into the game after several years, John Swabey (Belgium) and Simon Carlsson (Sweden).  Other top seeds were holder Stephen Mulliner, the eight-time winner and three-time finalist from his twelve previous starts, Phil Cordingley (England) and Tony le Moignan (Jersey), also coming back into the game after several years.

Read more: European Championship 2005

Chairman's Rosebowl and Malmet Trophy 2005

17-19 September 2005, Meadows

The Chairman's Rosebowl is contested by the six best available Scottish players.  This year several of the usual contestants, including last year's winner Rod Williams, were unavailable for various reasons.  (Rod was resting his wrist in the hope of being fully fit to play next year.  He nevertheless turned up on all three days and acted as a referee and a spectator as well as joining in the social side of the weekend.)  Brian Murdoch's withdrawal left the field further weakened, with no one's handicap below 3.  It also led to the promotion of Jamieson Walker from the Malmet Trophy (for the next six players, or as many as are available), which was left with only four players and hence reduced to two days.

Last year's innovation of holding both events together at the Meadows was retained, and the lunches laid on by Jamieson in the pavilion this time added to the convivial atmosphere.

Each event produced a first-time winner - Fergus McInnes winning the Chairman's, with David Appleton close behind, and Ian Wright being well ahead of the rest in the Malmet.

Read more: Chairman's Rosebowl and Malmet Trophy 2005

Walker Cup 2005

10 September 2005, Meadows

The Walker Cup was played in cloudy and cool weather on Saturday 10 Sep at Meadows, but at least the unremitting rain of the previous day had let up, making conditions a little better than at the short croquet at Kinross recently.  There were six players, two of them playing their first SCA tournament, and one of them winning.  After two rounds of 18-point games, Steven Boyne and Allan Hawke had won both their games and played each other in the final.  Steven, playing with 7 bisques, gave Allan little chance to do other than play his balls onto the lawn.  Going in fourth turn, Steven took his first ball all the way round to rover, then peeled his second ball through 3-back.  He stuttered a little then but went on to complete a thorough rout +18.  Meanwhile Morven Cross, more used to playing on the notorious lawn 3 at Lauriston, was finding it difficult on the super-fast lawns of Meadows and lost her third game to Ian Wright, who had quickly got used to his new Pidcock mallet and came second overall on points (15 to Allan Hawke's 10).  Robert Lay had a 'forgetful' day, expressing some surprise that the tournament was over by 3pm on Saturday: he thought it lasted two days and had booked into a B&B accordingly!  Joe Lennon also had two wins over the day and came out level on points.  Full results are below.

A Hawke beat R Lay +17
I Wright beat J Lennon +11
S Boyne beat M Cross +17

AH beat IW +11
SB beat RL +17
JL beat MC +4

SB beat AH +18
IW beat MC +15
JL beat RL +7

Allan Hawke