SCA AC Interclub 2019

The 2019 AC inter-club league consists of two all-play-all blocks. The winners of each block will play each other in a final on October 5th at The Meadows, unless otherwise agreed.

A team for a match consists of two players. Teams may be selected from a pool of players but no player may play for more than one team.

In the blocks below the team named in the row will have choice of venue if there is a * in the cell, otherwise the choice will belong to the team named in the column. For example for Auchincruive v Edinburgh in Block A, Auchincruive has choice of venue.

Matches will consist of two games of handicap AC singles. Normally lower handicap players will play each other, but captains may agree otherwise. Time limits of 3 hours plus 3 minutes per bisque unless agreed otherwise. A match result will be either 1-0 or ½-½. Results to be reported to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Block winners are decided by:

  1. number of matches won;
  2. net points;
  3. who beat whom.

The winners of each block will play each other in a final at Meadows on Saturday October 6th, or otherwise by mutual agreement. The final will be decided by (a) games won then (b) net points then (c) gross points. If still equal then the final will be decided by a single 14-point Alternate Stroke Handicap Doubles match, unless agreed otherwise.

All singles games count for the handicap card.


Meadows 2 beat Auchincruive 2-0 (26 September 2019)
Rachel Frith beat Ann Rutter +11T
George Plant beat Malcolm Smith +10

Block A

Block A A E B Matches Net points Position
Auchincruive   1 ½ +40 1
Edinburgh 0   * 0 -27  
Balgreen ½     ½ -13  


Auchincruive Kevin Wright (c), Michele Wright, Malcolm Smith and Ann Rutter
Edinburgh Allan Hawke (c) and Kathy Brown
Balgreen Alastair Burn-Murdoch (c) and Kevin Russell


Balgreen v Auchincruive (26 July 2019)
Kevin Russell beat Michele Wright +1T (11-10)
Alastair Burn-Murdoch lost to Kevin Wright -14

Auchincruive v Edinburgh (12 August 2019)
Malcolm Smith beat Kathy Brown +1T (17-16)
Kevin Wright beat Alan Hawke +26


Block B

Block B M1 M2 G Matches Net points Position
Meadows 1   ½ ½ 1 -1 2
Meadows 2 ½   ½ 1 +5 1
Glasgow ½ ½   1 -4 3


Meadows 1 Brian Cosford (c) and Roger Binks
Meadows 2 George Plant (c) and Rachel Frith
Glasgow Brian Durward (c) and Stefan Colling


Meadows 1 v Meadows 2 (8 July 2019)
Brian Cosford (M1) beat Rachel Frith (M2) +15
Roger Binks (M1) lost to George Plant (M2) -16

Meadows 2 v Glasgow (14 August 2019)
Rachel Frith lost to Stefan Colling -14
George Plant beat Brian Durward +18

Glasgow v Meadows (27 August 2019)
Brian Durward beat Roger Binks +5
Steafan Colling lost to Brian Cosford -5